What Do Women Really Want?

Soooooo, you just read the prologue and the Wife of Bath’s tale.  Is she accurate in her discussion of what women really want?  What do YOU think women really want?  In fact, take this one step further?  What do MEN want?  What are the sexes really looking for in relationships?  (Length:  One fully developed, well – written, “sparkly” paragraph.  In addition, please respond to two other responses from your classmates.  🙂  Can’t wait to read these!!!  🙂

18 thoughts on “What Do Women Really Want?

  1. jeannarussell

    I think that the woman is partially correct in saying that women want to be in control. I think that control in a relationship is something that people gain throughout the years. I think that along with control, women want to be faithfully loved and cared about. Most women want to be with someone who will care for them and love them no matter what. I think that as men mature they want the same things a women; however, when they are young I believe some men (not all) want more of a physical relationship.

    Reply
    1. mccordlynsey

      I agree with you that women want to be in control and loved and cared about (who doesn’t!) and I think men want that as well. Also, I agree that, generally, men don’t mature as quickly as women (not all!) and therefore, men do sometimes want a more physical relationship, and society tends to make it more acceptable for men to think this way than women; however, I think that in today’s society, by the time a couple is married, both the man and woman want a serious relationship beyond the physical.

      Reply
    2. jst222

      I agree with most of statement, but I think you failed to recognize the influence of differing backgrounds on power dynamics of a relationship. I also believe that in modern culture that power dynamics in a relationship are established in the early years of that relationship and that main relationships are reflections of decisions made early on.

      Reply
      1. jeannarussell

        I think that background does slightly influence your relationships; however, I do not see how that influences who wears the pants in the relationship. Also, I do think that decisions made early in a relationship do influence your future relationship, but I do not think that it influences who has more control. Like I said in class today, I think that your relationship changes throughout the years and women may gain more control as they get older. For example, I feel that my parents have an equal amount of control in the relationship. However, in both my sets of my grandparents relationship, I think that both grandma’s have gained more control throughout the years.

    3. cbrayant

      I agree that women look for those characteristics in a man because I too look for them. Younger men tend to look at the outside of a woman rather than the inside.

      Reply
  2. jst222

    This truly depends on the individual background of each person. To generalize each woman either wanting control or equality is a broad claim. To a point the wife of Bath is accurate, especially in modern society, but in more traditional homes, its equality in marriage that is sought. It is guaranteed that no person wants to feel powerless in relationship, but to want to exhibit dominion over another person is not guaranteed. The same can be said about men. Men who are raised in more traditional homes seek to have equality in their relationship with their wives, but those who are more vulnerable to modern society, which in nature is very carnal, will want to dominion over their wife.

    Reply
    1. mccordlynsey

      I agree that a great deal of this depends on the background of each individual, but I think dominion and control are two separate things. In the story, I don’t think that the wife of bath was implying complete and utter control and domination over a husband. I think she meant control in a different, more secretive way, especially with this time period. For example, the old witch who married the knight left it up to the knight what he wanted, and because he left it up to her, she rewarded him. Think of the saying, “happy wife, happy life.” Society even has a saying that means, if a husbands makes his wife happy he too will be happy. It’s really just more of a behind the scenes control than asserting dominance over one anther. A man can be the “head of the household.” while a woman still has control over his plans, what he has for dinner, what he does around the house for her and/or what he does or doesn’t do. The beauty of this control is that sometimes it can be done using subtlety in which the man doesn’t really realize it, and it is important to distinguish that it is not a taken or forced control it is a control that is willingly given which can make all the difference.

      Reply
    2. jeannarussell

      Jason, I do agree that background does have a slight influence on a couple’s relationship. However, I do not think that it is accurate that men have more control in “traditional homes.” I think that their is a want for equality, but in the end men want to make their wives happy, like Lynsey said “happy wife, happy life.” For example, my grandparents now have pool in their back yard. Why? They got the pool because my grandma wanted it. Now, they want to get a puppy. Why? It’s because my grandma wants it. Now, if my grandpa flat out said “no” then my grandma would have dropped the subject (for a while). However, my grandpa wants to make my grandma happy. Therefore, he gives her control.

      Reply
      1. mccordlynsey

        I can back Jeanna up on this. My grandma just has to say the word and my grandpa does whatever she wants, and My dad pumps my moms gas and cleans her car for her because she “forgets” (mine too 🙂 ).

      2. cbrayant

        I love this. I also agree completely. It is not about power. It is about making each other happy and compromising (to a certain extent). If both the man and woman want power in the relationship, there will constantly be arguments over who is right and who is wrong. You have to give a little to get a little.

    3. jaceyann

      I completely agree on the fact it depends on someone’s background. Everyone has different morals, values, and ethical beliefs and to claim all men or all women want certain things is very hard to do.

      Reply
    4. impocalypse

      I agree that background is the largest part of what helps define relationships, as it is by the examples of others that couples follow. I believe that as a child grows and sees how their parents act towards one another, then they mature and look for that same kind of love.

      Reply
  3. mccordlynsey

    I think the wife of Bath is completely correct in what women want. Like her, I believe that as women get older, they care about having control in a relationship. I think the best thing about that is that women can definitely have control without being completely emasculating. I think men want to feel masculine. In general, control and masculinity can be similar when looked at in certain ways, but I do think that the difference is that women (in general) want to be in control and feel in control while men (again, in general) just want to feel and prove to themselves and to others that they are masculine and manly. The deciding factor is how men and women go about controlling and asserting masculinity and that is where the varying degrees and differences in relationships and personalities come.

    Reply
    1. jeannarussell

      I agree with you, but I also think that women and men both want to be loved and cared about. Also, way to use big word!

      Reply
    2. jaceyann

      I absolutely agree, however, I do not think it is based all on masculine and feminine mindsets. Many men and women vary in those stereotypical categories and even if the man is masculine, he could want the woman having control as well. I do not believe you are wrong in any way, I just believe that someone being masculine and feminine does not define a relationship and what they want.

      Reply
  4. cbrayant

    I agree with the woman in the fact that women want to be in control. I only believe this because, just like myself, women think, or over think, more than men do. They form ideas and plans in their mind and find it hard to compromise on those ideas once they have decided on them. However, this is not ALL that women want in a relationship. If other women are like myself, they look for a relationship that has loyalty, kindness, and love; not money or shiny things. I still haven’t figured out what men want in a relationship, mostly because everyone is different. Everyone has different morals and values behind their lists of standards. It all depends on the man’s maturity level and what point of life he is in. A young man has different ideas of what a relationship should look like than an older man. The older man has most likely gained experience and thinks more rationally. He is not looking for something superficial and temporary, but a love that will last forever. He looks at the inside of a women rather than the outer appearance.

    Reply
  5. jaceyann

    I believe the Lady of Bath was right. I believe that as women grow older, they tend to get more controlling over their relationship. I think all women want to get what they want all their lives, however, maybe it just does not completely come out until they are comfortable with the man. I do not believe that women want utter control and power over their husbands, but sometimes want more power than the other. I think women are just very needy individuals and men do have to give in to women sometimes in order to make them happy. Overall, I think women are just as happy with a relationship that is equal, but the power of the relationship shifting at appropriate times. I believe men want what women want. I do not feel there are many differences between genders. I believe everyone wants a happy relationship. Dealing with power, I think people want shifts depending on the situation, but overall, everyone is just hunting for happiness. I think also what men and women want, depend on the relationship and who they are with. Also, everyone has different morals and values and it is very hard to determine exactly what specifically men and women want. Everyone is just looking for a person that makes life a little brighter and the hard times more bearable. Both genders are looking for happiness, which is something humans hunt for throughout their lives.

    Reply
  6. impocalypse

    I believe that what women want is to be respected in their decisions, as well as not always being criticized for those decisions even if they are wrong. Women want to be supported and loved, and don’t mind when the man does something that they want. But I do not believe that women want to be in complete control, because from my families relationships as examples, I see it more of a dynamic that both sides use. Sometimes one parent does something that the other wants, sometimes the other way around. It is not really one parent making all the decisions, but more of a ongoing discussion. Men do seem to want a more physical relationship at first, but given time do not care for it as much at all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

