The New English Companion website

Source: The New English Companion website

2 thoughts on “The New English Companion website

  1. alliahdawson

    When it comes to fear, I have many. I am scared of walking alone anywhere, car crashes, being alone, but the main one that sticks out is death. I am a firm believer in heaven and that there is an afterlife. I have been born into this Christian life I live. But that doesn’t mean I don’t have doubts, because most Christians do. When the word “death” gets brought up in church, home, school, I usually end up crying. I don’t know if it is just me but not knowing how, when, where you are going to die. It’s not even the fact that I will die, but also the fact of losing my friends, my family, and my teachers. Someday you could be hanging out with one of your closest friends and the next they are gone, no last goodbye, no hug, they are just gone. Not knowing when and how is a major key to my fear. Will it be tomorrow? Will it be after I am married? Will I not make it out of high school? It really scares me. Also, how? How will I die, will it be natural causes? Car crash? Murder? I can’t even imagine. Going along with my fear and trying to overcome it is something I will never be able to do. But living everyday like it’s my last is something I can do. In life I try to be friends with everyone, you never know what could happen. That’s why I am the loud and very outgoing individual that I am. Like I said, you will never know what might happen. When I die, whenever, however, I hope to leave a positive impact on people.

    Reply
  2. Gabrielle Haas

    Imagine the loss of a loved one….now imagine losing multiple loved ones at a time. My absolute worst fear is the loss of my family or anyone close to me for that matter. I have experienced the loss of a loved one, and there will never be any words to accommodate for the type of pain there is that partners with the death of a loved one. The loss of a loved one leaves an empty, heart-wrenching, somber feeling that never truly leaves. That feeling will stay in one’s life forever. There will always be thoughts about what you could have done, what you should have done, the additional time you should have spent, and words you could have said. There is never a true closure to a permanent departure of a loved one. There is only a cold sense of empty sorrowfulness that stays with you every single minute of every day. Now this is not to say that a wound will never heal itself within time, rather the wound will never reach its full potential of being healed. Losing a loved one means losing a piece of yourself. Losing your entire family would mean losing everything that made you who you are today, and it would immensely effect your everyday life going into the future. Death will forever be the robber of ever baring the fully felt feeling of happiness. It will take over your thoughts, and it will be hard to withstand at times. Death is the epitome of adjectives such as dark, lonely, empty, and it will stay with the living forever. Losing a loved one is the reason gave me a new understanding of life, and is the reason as to why I am protective over everyone I love today. I may not like my family, but I do love them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

