AP ENGLISH -4th hour…What is your “green light?” (Blog Assign #1)

Please read The New York Times article (dated 2008) entitled “Gatsby’s Green Light Beckons a New Set of Strivers” and “The Happiest Place on Earth” (see below.)  After you have read the articles, please first respond to the following prompt in a well-written, thoughtful, and blog-worthy (or bloggable, which is, indeed, a word) response of 150-200 words:  Then, respond to someone else’s blog response in three to four sentences.

Prompt:  What is YOUR green light?  What is YOUR “American Dream?”

(Links to two articles about money and happiness.)

The Happiest Place on Earth” – includes the “60 Minutes” video clip

“Gatsby’s Green Light Beckons a New Set of Strivers”

Point value – 25 for 150-200 word response/ 10 points for response to another’s answer

 

66 thoughts on “AP ENGLISH -4th hour…What is your “green light?” (Blog Assign #1)

  1. jeremyhaworth

    I don’t exactly have a clear goal yet. I have an interest in computer programming and might get into a job involving that. I want to make sure there’s a good balance between work and free time while also having a decent amount of wealth.

    Reply
    1. Gavin Stines

      I’d have to agree with you Miss Watson. the older version is just too boring for me. I didn’t like Redford’s approach of Gatsby, it was to cool and calm for me.

      Reply
    2. Ethan Allsopp

      I definitely liked the newer version better. I liked the movie out of the three the most though. the newer movie is much better than the old movie.

      Reply
    3. Madi Ray

      I would have to agree also. I have personally watched the older version with Robert Redford and the scenes go by so quick I didn’t really understand what was even happening. Leonardo Dicaprio does a tremendous job of being Gatsby!

      Reply
  2. Madyson Finney

    To me people can be green lights also. I would consider my mother my “green light”. Not only because she is my mother, but because she is such a strong person. She has been through so much which had given me hope that one day I could because as strong as she is to this day. She has been through losing a child, being told she could be diagnosed with cancer because she has cancerous cells, and she has been through one divorce. My mother is an amazing person. She is my “green light”.

    Reply
    1. Madyson Finney

      My first one isn’t long enough so here goes the second try: To me people can be green lights also. I would consider my mother my “green light”. Not only because she is my mother, but because she is such a strong person.We may not get along all of the time, but she is still the one person that I could not imagine my life without. She has been through so much which had given me hope that one day I could because as strong as she is to this day. She has been through losing a child, being diagnosed with a lifelong disease, and she has been through one divorce. My mother is an amazing person. Every single day she shows me what it is like to go through so many ups and downs and still get up and go through her day with a smile on her face. She truly has the ability to be a great mother. I truly look up to her. She is my “green light”.

      Reply
      1. rachel link

        i completely agree with you Madyson, that people can also be green lights. i have the same opinion towards my mom, like she is my everything and she is really the only reason that i am still in school. my mom pushes me to do my best at everything i attempt to do.

      2. Lindsey Andrews

        Mady, it is interesting to me that you picked your mom as your green light. I never thought about a person being a representation fit for the topic. I completely agree and love that you chose your mom to be this figure. Your post allowed me to view the topic in a new way I have not thought of!

  3. Tristen Winkler

    The green light, a symbol of hope, is in each and every one of us. No matter what the goal is, everyone wants to achieve something greater for themselves. But what is the “green light”? For some it is power or wealth or to be remembered, for me it is to live a long full life and help as many people as possible. I believe that the American dream and the death list commonly known as the bucket list go hand in hand. On my bucket list, I have things like go skydiving, find peace, and save someone’s life. I personally believe that if I achieve these types of goals, I will become the best person I can be and maybe even be remembered by a few. Now that I think about it, making a good deal of money while I’m on the planet wouldn’t be bad either and who knows, maybe I’ll even have a family later on down the road. What I am really trying to get at is that I really don’t know as of right now what I really want out of life. I feel like I need to experience more to get a good grasp of what is really important.
    -Tristen Winkler

    Reply
    1. Garrett Downing

      I think you are correct Trystan. Being remembered by people is a good thing. How would you find peace? would you physically save a life or mentally save a life? please get back to me ASAP.

      Reply
  4. Dakota Igo

    A green light, an unwavering desire, a dream. For many, theses sacred words hold hidden, even unforeseeable meanings. Just like what comes to mind for many upon hearing these words, the varieties are endless. Being the kind of person I am, if I were to be asked “What is your Green Light?” before answering I’d take a moment to reflect on my life. I’d acknowledge both my successes and my failures. Take a moment to rebroadcast, the tears and smiles I’ve shared with others. Finishing the observation upon my own growth, I’d answer the question with a modest and simply “This current moment in time”. For it is the present we take for granted. We worry deeply over the past and the future, over things we cannot change or control. Souring our lives, our dreams, and our time on things worth less than, our framed, in-cased, pieces of paper hanging over our mantle we spend years achieving. Life is an occasion, rise to it.

    Reply
    1. stephanie bott

      Dakota, this response is very well written. I like your thoughts about your “green light.” I agree with you entirely that the present is taken for granted. However, in the world we live in today focusing solely on the present is not an easy task. Do you live your life as if it is an occasion? After reading your post, I realized that I should try to create a similar “green light” to yours.

      Reply
  5. Connor Lomax

    My American Dream would consist of a great education, hard work, and a long healthy and happy life. First of all, I believe that a good education can help lead to many opportunities in your life that people may not receive if they do not have a great education. Secondly, my American Dream consists of hard work. You have infinite job opportunities in the United States that allow you to work hard and make a good living. The harder you work the more you will be rewarded with later in life and in the end you can sit back and look back on how much you accomplished to be as successful as you are. Lastly, my American Dream would consist of the living a full and healthy life. I feel that the American Dream consists of all Americans living to grow old, retire, and die happy with no regrets of what they did. That’s my version of the Americam Dream.

    Reply
  6. Gavin Stines

    My green light in life is to be successful. No matter where i choose to go, no matter what I choose to do in life, I want to be one of the very best at it. Instead of just watching it from a distance i want to chase it, no time for complacency. My American dream is having money and enough to not worry about what i’m buying. The American dream to me is having a nice house with a nice car and living life how you want to live life. No one wants to sit around and worry about how much money they have, or even fight with your significant other down the road. To me it’s not worth, so work hard and you can have whatever your American dream is.

    Reply
    1. Madyson Finney

      I completely agree with you Gavin. Having the ability to push yourself into chasing your dreams and what you want is a very admirable quality. Many people lack that kind of dedication and then they do not get very far in life. Just remember that money can’t buy happiness. Money can relieve stress which, in turn, can make it much easier to be happy.

      Reply
    2. Logan Rome

      Gavin, I agree with the money situation. Nobody wants to worry about money. Having money is just about everyone’s goal.

      Reply
    3. Dylan Allen

      Gavin I agree with you on the money part. Having money and not having to worry about not having it is huge. Having the money solves many problems and you have less worries like you stated.

      Reply
    4. Connor Lomax

      I also agree with you Gavin. Success is a goal that everyone strives for or they should strive for. The money would also be a great addition to the American Dream. You wouldn’t have to worry about bills or ever worry about having enough

      Reply
  7. Garrett Downing

    My green light is being able to get up in the morning and remind myself that I still live in a free country. By this, I mean that I still can talk how I want, pray how I want, and most importantly spend my money on what I want. As a citizen of the United States I have privileges that no other citizen in any other country around the world has. The “American dream” that I have for my future is living in a different small town right over the border in Indiana. I want live in Eastern Indiana because that region is more secluded compared to our region in Illinois. Other reasons for aspiring to live in Indiana are firearm Laws that are not as strict and a government that is in better economic shape than that of Illinois. I want to wake up in the morning knowing that the country that I live in is still free and strong. Freedom is my green light.

    Reply
  8. Ethan Allsopp

    My green light in life is to be successful in school and sports. All my life I wanted to be a pro athlete but people have told me that it is impossible for me. If I have a goal in life, I am not going to stop chasing it until I achieve that goal. No matter how long or hard the work is, I will get the job done. My American Dream is to be a pro athlete or an athletic trainer. Anything to keep me in sports for my life would be extremely awesome. I do not know what I would do if I did not have sports in my life.

    Reply
  9. Jay Boulware

    My green light is going to college for nursing. I want to do this so that when I have my degree I will be able to work at a high wage job. This would be so that I could live comformatably so I don’t have to worry about money as much when I’m older. I want to succeed. I want to see what the life of luxury is like. I want to be able to reach my goal in a few years. I would then start saving. I would save enough mony to have a good downpayment for a nice house that is not in a neighborhood with a high crime rate. This would be a good start to work towards an even better home. I know that with hardwork and dedication I will be able to succeed in this goal.

    Reply
  10. Sarah Skinner

    My green light is to be accepted into the military, and to become a vet. In my life so far I’ve jumped from job idea to job idea, but it wasn’t until one winter that I truly found my passion. That passion was on being a vet. People have asked me before what I wanted to do and when I tell them, they say it’s going to take a lot of time and hard work. I believe have the determination to go after my green light and I will succeed. My American dream is to see military veterans have the respect they disserve, and to be able to live a healthy long life.

    Reply
  11. Meghanne Jennings

    Everyone has their own “green lights.” The significance of how important things are vary from person to person. Everyone has their own social ladder they climb and what becomes important to them ends up on the top. My “green light” is not the highest grades or to become president. My “green light” is to be able to look back when I am old and gray and ask myself “Have you had a good life?” and to be able to respond “Yes.” Materialistic things won’t do any good if they do not make you happy. My “green light” is not to have the most high-end couture or to own a restaurant because in a hundred years no one will remember that. My “green light” is to have a happy life and if no one will remember it, I might as well do what I want and make myself happy. In the novel, Fitzgerald writes that Gatsby has all these expensive artifacts and exquisite clothes but still he can not get what he wants, (Daisy). Gatsby spent his whole life making himself worth millions for what? A girl? Or better a girl that can not be in his world. That’s why I say, do what you want, because if its taken from you, your life is not fulfilled.

    Reply
  12. Whalen Rockwell

    My green light is sports. I give sports all my attention during the season and on the off season. I will not let anybody in my way of my goals in sports. They will lead me into a good future and going to put me in a successful career one day. The American dream is to not be worried about anything not to be stressed out about life decisions. I want to live my life of no worries. I want a nice car and a nice house and not have to worry about anything. Just to know everything is covered and I have everything in control how I want in my life would be the best feeling to me.

    Reply
  13. gage foster

    My green light in life is to make it somewhere in life. My lifetime goal is to be wrestling on a d1 wrestling team. I know that is going to be a hard one to do but even if I don’t make it d1 I plan on wrestling or playing football in college. My size kind of holds me back on becoming a D1 football player but nothing will hold me back on wrestling. My life has been filled with nothing but sports and thinking about being a senior and how my sports are coming close to an end. Nothing is going to stop me from continuing to college. Even if I don’t play sports in college I want to major in physical education or become a physical trainer. This way even after my body is all beat up and unable to play sports I will still be around what I love

    Reply
    1. Chance trigalet

      That is a very good goal Gage. Confidence is key when it comes to sports. There is tons of physical training that goes into it but it’s also a mental game. I also like how you are still going to go to college even if you don’t play sports. A physical trainer would be a great job for you. Like you said you will still be around what you love the most, sports.

      Reply
  14. Madi Ray

    My green light in life is to be successful in what I do as a student and as an adult as I grow up. I want to be able to help people in anyway I can with my career set. As for school right now my intentions are to just be the best I can be. Get good grades, become better and better at volleyball the more I play. That is something I strive for something that I reach for as I go further into my senior year and for college next year. I see myself being very successful already even though I haven’t gotten that far with my future yet. I believe that I can do it and I can be who I want to be, with keeping my green light as being successful. I want to be able to feel successful in whatever I do in life even if it isn’t what i hoped to do. I still will take the opportunity of whatever it is and let it guide me.

    Reply
  15. rachel link

    My green light in life is to just be successful, and every person has their own idea of being successful. Well my idea of being successful would be having a family that truly loves me just as much as i love them. I strive to be a mother who can be active with her children and relate to them as much as possible. I’ve never really had a close family to be honest, my family is actually pretty distant towards each other, and i want the complete opposite for my future. I want to have the type of family where there is never a dull moment and we are just happy and there is a lot of laughter. I know most people believe that doesn’t exist, but i disagree with that because i truly believe that its possible to have a truly happy family. It just takes time, dedication, communication, and also a lot of patience is required. I know this all seems so “cheesy”, but honestly having a close and happy family is my green light in life, its what i strive for.

    Reply
    1. Meghanne Jennings

      Rachel, that is a great goal to strive for. I think your ambitions are strong and when you set your mind to something, you do it! Keep you future in mind because your future self will thank you for it. Never forget what will truly make you happy and if you stray away from your goals just remember why you had them in the first place! You can do anything you set you mind to! Again, that is a great way to look at life and it is a great way for you to always be happy!

      Reply
  16. Drake Swinford

    My green light is to become successful in what I do in life. I want to be happy at where I’m at in life. In my opinion a good education and hard work would be key to a happy life. My main goal is to go to college and get my associates degree. After that I want to find a job that will make a good amount of money and not have to worry about financial issues. Also I would want to make a great supportive family that only encourages me to do more and be more successful. Sports has played a big role in my life and I don’t know what I would do without them. Being in a sport has taught me more lessons than anything else. It has prepared more for the struggles and the good times. I’m one of those players that doesn’t stop until I get the win or when the game is over, I always push myself and have a mindset that I can achieve anything if I can keep my mind to it.

    Reply
    1. John Casey

      Out of everything I just read in this post, I agree the most on being happy in what you do. It is not all about making tons of money or playing sports in college but if that is what makes a person happy so be it. I think both of our views are similar. Do what makes you happy and if the money comes then great!

      Reply
    2. Derek Drake

      i agree with you drake I also thank you need to be successful in life to be happy and you will also need extra schooling to make money in life.

      Reply
  17. Logan Rome

    My green light would have to be life itself. The American dream to most people is to live here, have money, provide for their family, and be happy. I want to have enough money to not be worrying constantly. What is the fun in life if you’re constantly worrying? I want nothing more than to just find a career to get into and make enough money that I don’t have to worry and just live life. If this does not work out for me then I will be just as happy knowing I tried my hardest. Although it seems that everyone is set up to fail, we just need to believe in ourselves. Who cares if you fail anyway? Get back up and try again. Whether or not I succeed won’t change the fact that I’m still living. Most people aren’t blessed enough to live in a place where we have the choice to do what want when we want. My “green light” is life itself. Life is what keeps me going.

    Reply
    1. Drake Swinford

      I totally agree with you Logan. Most people’s dreams when they come to America they seek fortune and prosperity. They look for better jobs that pay well and have enough to support their family.

      Reply
    2. Tony Ibishi

      I can agree with Logan 110%. Every time I’m over seas visiting family, all they talk about is how they want to come live in America and have work. My dad actually came to America for the same when he was 16, hasn’t stopped working since. I’m glad that I live in the U.S and A.

      Reply
  18. Lindsey Andrews

    In “The Great Gatsby”, Gatsby’s green light is Daisy because he believes in order to be happy he must be with her. My green light is not necessarily one goal or one event that I want to achieve but instead my life as a whole. One part of my life is not going to keep me satisfied forever, I want to continually be happy. In order to live a happy life I need to obtain an education that will allow me to pursue a career that I will enjoy for the rest of my life. It is not necessarily the amount of money I make, but how happy I am instead. After I finish college I hope to start a family and continue to live a comfortable life. By keeping good relationships with my family and friends, pursuing a career that I love, and being able to support my family, I will achieve my green light.

    Reply
  19. stephanie bott

    For me, my “green lights” come from volleyball. On my school volleyball team we set specific goals each day in practice, both individual and team-related, in order to progress effectively. These goals are my “green lights.” With each goal that I am given, I give myself “the green light” to go 100%, until the goal is achieved. Also, I have long term goals for my volleyball career. These goals include playing volleyball in college and becoming the best player that I can be. So I guess one could say that all my ‘little’ green lights in practice eventually make up a bigger, more important, “green light.”
    The American dream is different for every person. My American dream could be generalized as very typical. My dream is to go to college and finish with a degree that will satisfy me for a long time, get married, have three children and raise them to be wonderful, well behaved, respectable people. This is a slight variation from the average persons dream, yet I would consider it to be very general. Also, my American dream could be considered a “green light” for me because I plan to achieve this dream.
    Word Count: 202

    Reply
  20. John Casey

    My green light is to set an example for other people. I would love to have people in my town and my family to look up to me. I want to have a good job in which I am successful and a hard working leader. I want to be the best worker, father, husband, son, and grandfather that I can be. I want to get a college degree in law enforcement and use my education to benefit the community in which I live. Although everyone seems to have an idea of what the “American Dream” actually is, it should be whatever makes a person the happiest. A lot of people want to be wealthy with a family, with a white picket fence but if one isn’t happy with a white picket fence and some money then what kind of American Dream is that? Someone could be living what seems to be the perfect life but behind closed doors could be something totally different. Bottom line, my “American Dream” is happiness. If I’m not happy with my life and my accomplishments then what other people see about my life doesn’t matter. After everything is said and done, you have yourself and you are going to look back on your life and want to think about when you were truly happy. To sum up my “American Dream” do what makes you the happiest and good things will follow.

    Reply
  21. Elisa Jimenez

    My “green light” is to get accepted into college and become a photographer. I always want to change my mind growing up but until a last year. I found my passion when I started taking random pictures of friends and family and love the way they turned out. I’ve always been told to work towards what I want to do. I believe I will succeed at it if I just show I am determined in life. The American dream is to live life and enjoy every minute of. I don’t want to stress over decisions I will have to make in life. I want to make money and show my family that I didn’t give up on my goals in life.

    Reply
  22. Dylan Allen

    My green light is to be successful. By successful I mean having money and to be able to do what I want whenever I want. Besides money I would like to have a good looking wife, a big family, nice cars, big house and nice things. To me having money is the American Dream. Money is the key to happiness. When having money you can do whatever is it you would like to do. There are no limits on where you can go and what you can do. You can live life how you want to live it. Finding a job allows me to do that is a big part of that dream. The family part also plays a big part in my American Dream. Having a big family is very important to me. Family is everything. A big family always results in a good time. When having nice things you can have fun. Having all the latest toys and gadgets allows you to do so many things that make you happy.

    Reply
  23. Tony Ibishi

    My green light is to be special. What I mean by special is to be remembered at what I love to do. I want to be successfull. I want to be able to say that paying bills is a joke. After High School, I plan on going to college for Business. My American Dream is to be successfull at what I will do as my career. I want to wake up, have a nice cup of coffee in my million dollar mansion, and just not worry about anything. Then I go to my garage and see what kind of car I want to drive for the day, maybe see which one will match my outfit. When I do become successful, I will make sure not to give up. I hate giving up and I don’t think anyone should. To me there’s always a way to get it. It’s up to you to see how bad you want it.

    Reply
  24. Chance trigalet

    My ultimate green light goal would be to become a professional dirt bike racer. That has been my green light ever since i started racing. Everybody wants to be successful at what they do and make it to the “big leagues” but only a select few take it all the way. Everybody knows that if you want to be successful at something you have to put in the hard work. It does take a lot of dedication to become a profession athlete. I think being a professional athlete would be one of the many “American dreams”. In my opinion, it is the best job out there. You get paid thousands of dollars to do what you love. Who could ask for anything better? Everyone has their own dream for themselves. Becoming a professional athlete is not the only “American Dream” out there. People have thousands of different dreams. By the time a person is old enough to understand what the world is about they most likely have a goal of what they want to achieve in life, whether it’s becoming the richest person alive or being the most caring. Some want to become doctors, lawyers, policemen, etc.. Everyone is unique in their own way.

    Reply
  25. Derek Drake

    My green light, or my American dream is to become the best I can be at what I decide to do in life. I want to be able to too make money and live a great life and support a family. I want to live a happy life where my family and I want have to worry about financial problems and be able to still have fun with life. For my goal to achieve all of this, I plan on going to a college to obtain my associates degree and then go to a technical college an get a certification for diesel mechanics and go to work for the rail road as mechanic. As a mechanic for the rail road I would be making 40$an hour so I should be able to achieve my dream.

    Reply
  26. Kayla Tuttle

    My green light is to one day get to a point where I am at my up most success. When I am at my highest point of success when I have my career all worked out. My career is to one day be a Speech and Language Pathologist and when I am working at a steady job and making the amount of money that I think is appropriate and when I am satisfied with the people and place that I am working at. Another hope of mine is to one day have a loving and caring husband that loves me for me. With that husband comes another dream which I hope my husband has too is to have children. When this day comes I will teach them not to be afraid to chase their dreams and go for them and don’t let your fears tear you down. I also think there is plenty of time to achieve your dreams you could be seventy and still have not done everything you haven’t wanted to do your with your hopes and dreams. So with this conclusion, don’t think that you’re too old or too young to start you go get what’s rightly yours.

    Reply
  27. rayburnalex

    The green light, a symbol of the “American Dream,” is the same in each human being. We all have dreams or goals that we are striving to reach. To me, the green light represents happiness. Happiness is a mindset achievable by anyone. To most, goals are set to obtain material things such as money, jewelry, expensive clothes, or big houses. The goal that I’m striving to achieve will apply to everything in my future. When my job gets rough, or I feel like I’m not in the right career, I will want to maintain a mindset of happiness to get through the rough days, or have hope for an opened spot in the next occupation I will pursue. Happiness will also apply when I’m struggling with finances, such as student loans,—dear god—which everyone will have. In a situation like this, I will continue in the mindset of happiness to keep up with the loans, or to take on more work if I’m not meeting a certain quota. I believe having a mindset full of happiness and positivity will help me get through any decision, or situation in life. My “American Dream” is to have a mindset of happiness.

    Reply
    1. jeannarussell

      I agree with you. I also think that happiness is something everyone can achieve. But, what is your goal? You talk about how your goal applies to everything in your future, but what is that goal?

      Reply
  28. jeannarussell

    I think that my “green light” is similar to many people’s “green lights.” I want to be happy and successful in everything I do and achieve every goal I set for myself. Not only do I want to be successful in high school, but I also want to be successful in college and my career. Being successful is a goal that I have set for myself. Throughout my entire life, I have always set goals for myself and tried my best to achieve them. I want to be able to achieve every goal I have set and will set for myself in the future. I also want to be happy. Whatever my future holds, I want it to make me happy. I want to always remember to be happy no matter what happens. For me, my “green light” and “American Dream” is to remember to be happy, be successful, and achieve my goals.

    Reply
    1. eastell

      I would agree with Gatsby that the “green light” represents my hopes and dreams for the future. It could include my goals and aspirations. I also think that the green light could be motivation to achieve those goals. My “green light” would be to succeed in my final year of high school, throughout college, and in my career. It would also include being happy. I want to be happy with what I have and will achieve. I want to be proud of myself and my accomplishments.

      The “American Dream” used to be get married, start a family, and revolve your life around money. Yes, I’m being blunt, but that is how it was. People believed that if you had money your life was good. My “American Dream” is to be completely and totally content and happy with my life. It is to be proud of myself and to not have my happiness be dependent on how much money I have.

      Reply
  29. madyford

    For Gatsby, the “green light” was unattainable. He thought he could repeat the past and felt that if he just tried a little harder, he could reach his goal. Sadly, I think that this is true for everyone. We have very little control over our past and our future and even the most disciplined and dedicated person becomes a fool if they think that they are in control. This does not mean that hope is a pointless thing. Our hopes and dreams define who we are and our true value. Nick realized that Gatsby’s relentless pursuit of something as pure as the American dream and true love made him a better man than any of those who were born into riches like Tom and Daisy. I, too, believe in true love and the American dream, which makes me unwise (and human). My personal “green light” is that one day I’ll look back and realize that I am happy with my achievements, I have made a difference, and that my hope was not wasted, no matter if I obtained this goal through my American Dream to become and artist, or through some bland reality such as becoming stay at home mom.

    Reply
    1. eastell

      I never thought about this. Gatsby really wanted to have Daisy like he did 5 years before. He was trying to recreate the past when he should have just let it be. I do agree that we sometimes have very little control over our past and our future, but I believe that if we could, we would not be able to grow and prosper.

      Reply
    2. rayburnalex

      Your statement was clear and well explained. I also agree with your “green light”. I agree that we have no control of our past, but I would have to disagree in the control of our future. We have absolute control of the present, therefore the right decisions can lead to a future that you’ve worked and planned for. If you have no control of the present, then you have no control at all. Which is why Gatsby, living or dead, had a lavish life but would not have Daisy because you cannot have total control over another human.

      Reply
      1. madyford

        Yes, I do believe that we have some control over our futures. I just was trying to address tragedy and things that the future holds that we can’t control. I agree with you that Gatsby couldn’t control another human and that the right decisions can lead to a lavish life. I just was stating our decisions and our “green light” should be invested in something worthwhile. Put your hope in something solid.

  30. eastell

    I am not sure why, but it put my post as a reply to Jeanna’s. Let’s try this again.

    I would agree with Gatsby that the “green light” represents my hopes and dreams for the future. It could include my goals and aspirations. I also think that the green light could be motivation to achieve those goals. My “green light” would be to succeed in my final year of high school, throughout college, and in my career. It would also include being happy. I want to be happy with what I have and will achieve. I want to be proud of myself and my accomplishments.

    The “American Dream” used to be get married, start a family, and revolve your life around money. Yes, I’m being blunt, but that is how it was. People believed that if you had money your life was good. My “American Dream” is to be completely and totally content and happy with my life. It is to be proud of myself and to not have my happiness be dependent on how much money I have.

    Reply
    1. mccordlynsey

      I agree, it used to be that the American Dream was to have money. Also, it’s admirable that you want to be happy without being dependent on money for that happiness; Don’t we all want that?However, how do you do that? Well, you are going to need money first. No matter how hard we try, it seems we have to put money in the equation. Our happiness may not be dependent on how much we have, but if we don’t have enough to get by in todays society, will we be happy? As much as I don’t want to say it, I do not think we will be.

      Reply
    2. cbrayant

      That is a really great goal to have. If more people had that goal and achieved it the world would be a happier place.

      Reply
    3. jst222

      They say that money can buy happiness up to $50,000 for an American. This number that based on the current price of living is the amount that one completely feels secure as they have obtained all needs and conservative wants. But I agree that happiness is more based upon mindset than the amount that one takes home. No matter the circumstance happiness can found based on the prescriptive that we give it.

      Reply
  31. mccordlynsey

    My “green light” or American Dream is to go to college and succeed and find a good job where I can help people. It sounds cheesy, but don’t all dreams end up sounding super cheesy and sometimes unattainable? The American dream is so difficult to find because dreams are often just dreams. The hope that in America you are free and everyone is equal just isn’t the case. Dreams usually take money. Money can’t buy happiness is a common saying, but if you asked almost any person not extremely wealthy what one thing they wanted was, almost 100% of the time it will probably require money. So, what about the American Dream? Yes, it’s still attainable, but if you want it you are going to need some money. To attain my dream, which seems so simple, I will put myself in so much debt just so I can have a degree. However, once I attain that goal, I will have another one. There will always be another dream or another goal; it never ends. That makes me wonder. Is the American Dream really attainable or is it just something we tell ourselves to reach goals and feel better about our lives?

    Reply
    1. Alli Duncan

      I think that you could be right about wanting more, but it also depends on the person. For some people reaching their dream may take their whole life. our they could simply be satisfied when they do reach their dream. Depende la persona, as Mr. Shofner would say.

      Reply
  32. Alli Duncan

    It was green and it was shaped like a box, but it was not a box. One evening I snuck down to our little basement and I opened the non-box. It was a greenish colored suitcase with a NAVY crest on the front. I opened it and first, I nudged over a Navy Cap, and then I stared for a long time at a triangle-folded, American Flag.
    As I sat there that night I decided that I wanted to join the military. Later I discovered the JAG corpse and I became determined to fight for those who fought for me. That became my American dream. To enter the military and serve my country. To get into the JAG corpse is very difficult and it requires a lot of schooling. Naturally, I question if it is worth it and I know that I may fall short of my goal, but that little Green suitcase in my basement gives me hope and reassurance.

    Reply
  33. cbrayant

    Like everyone else, my “Green Light” is to be successful at everything I do in life. More importantly, I want to be happy. Unlike most of the characters in “The Great Gatsby”, I do not care about money and materialistic things. I never want to lose myself in something that I can’t take with me when I’m gone. I want to be like Denmark. I know I will not make the most money or have all of the newest things, but I will be doing something that I love to do for the rest of my life.

    Like Gatsby, I will work hard to get exactly what I want in life. Why should anyone settle for less? If I can live every day in love with my job, I will never work a day in my life. I hope to be successful in what I do but never lose focus of what really matters. I hope to have so much passion for what I do that people look at me as an example. I hope to leave a mark on the world from something greater than my career. I hope to be seen as the woman with the big heart. When I live everyday to the fullest, surrounded by the ones that I love, then I will truly be living my “American Dream”.

    Reply
  34. desb99

    Green light is a term they used to talk about the American dream. The American dream is different for each individual. My green light would have to be being successful in life and accomplishing my goals. What I’m referring to when I say accomplishing my goals is getting a degree in Nursing and Spanish. I also want to be successful in life so I know that when I decide to have kids I will be able to provide for them and their needs. Also so I wouldn’t be behind on any payments such as car,house, and power.

    Reply
  35. jst222

    The green light in “The Great Gatsby” is a representation of the full achievement of Gatsby’s Dream. Though Gatsby had many parts of his dream, he failed to have the one thing he ever truly wanted, and that was to be with Daisy. In my future, I see myself as a successful man with a homely house,a family, and being able to provide for their needs and wants; this is my American Dream. Accompanied with this dream like in “The Great Gatsby” is the Green Light, which to me is success with success in social life. I take the failures in this aspect of my life the hardest. It seems to me that this one thing is far in the distance, and because I cannot reach it I do not recognize all that I have accomplished. If do not find achievement, I may very much become like Jay Gatsby and become obsessed with reaching the green light.

    Reply
  36. desb99

    The term green light is referring to the American dream. My green light is to be successful and get a college degree in Spanish and Nursing. I want to be successful so I would have money and be able to support my family when I decide to have kids. I want to get my college degree so I wouldn’t have to rely on anyone to care for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

