English 2 – 2016-2017

In a well-written paragraph, share with your classmates in English 2 your thoughts about the novel, A Separate Peace.  Do not just answer the following questions, but use them as a means of having a conversation…a book talk….with your classmates.  Follow all the requirements of standard business English.  Proofread what you write, and know your audience.

***What is your favorite part of the novel so far?

***What part of the novel do you wish were written differently?

***What changes would you make to the plot?  to the characters?  to the setting?

***How do you think the novel will end?  (NOTE:  If you already KNOW how it ends, please have courtesy not to ruin it for anyone else.  🙂  )

***Why do you think _______________ happens the way it does?

***What would you ask the author if you had a chance?

Remember:  These are simply prompts to get you started in your paragraph.  Do not simply write the answers to the questions or your paragraph will sound like it was written from a less-than high school level.

Assignment due date:  Wednesday (11-23-16) at the beginning of second hour (In other words, this is due when you come to class)

Assignment value:  20 points

12 thoughts on “English 2 – 2016-2017

  1. isabelac25

    This is a very interesting book, my favorite part of this book is probably Gene and Finney’s relationship. If I had to change any of this book I would change how it lays out. I find it a little bit confusing at times. I would not change any of the characters though, I like all of them. But, maybe the setting it’s at a very depressing time and during the war. I think the ending will be sad because Gene is the only person to go bad and think of the past so I do not know what will happen next.

    Reply
  2. jordynowens

    My favorite part about this novel is when Gene and Finny have a love, hate friendship. The part of the novel I wish was written differently is the part where Finny breaks his leg twice. I would not make any changes about this novel, because I think it’s well written. I think the novel will end by Finny and Gene becoming better friends and they can put all their problems behind them.

    Reply
  3. Destiney Bennett

    A Separate Peace is an amazing novel. My favorite part in the novel would be when Gene goes to see Leper. Even though Leper was discharged from the army because of his illness Gene went to meet up with him. Leper then began to tell Gene about everything, which overwhelmed him causing him to run. I wish the part about where Gene had gotten the telegram telling him to meet Leper had been written in a different time and setting.

    Reply
  4. mackenziesmith12

    A Separate Peace is a great novel to read. My favorite part in this novel is when Gene goes to visit Leper in Vermont. Although Leper was discharged from the Army because he went psycho, he didn’t seem to mind Gene coming over. When Gene yelled at Leper to shut up and ran away, I hoped he would have come back and apologized to him at least before he left. I am hoping the novel will end in an exceptional way and not in a poor way, because it would be a horrible ending to the book if it did end poorly.

    Reply
  5. kirstenpickett

    In the novel, “A Separate Peace,” there are many parts of this story that are very interesting to me. One of the parts that interests me was at the beginning of the novel when Gene is reliving the memories that he has had at Devon. He remembers many events such as when he was training for the 1944 Olympics with his friend, Phineas, better known as Finny. Another memory he recalls while visiting his old school was when Finny broke his leg for a second time. This book has many great parts in it, but there were some parts of the novel that I wish could be changed. The part that I would change would be the part when Finny dies during his surgery. I feel that he should have woke up after his surgery and continue his friendship with Gene. This book has very interesting parts, and it is a really good book to read

    Reply
  6. hayleygarza

    I think the novel A Separate Peace is a good read. My favorite part is when they first create the society and meet at the tree every day to jump from it. I wish the part where Finny falls from the tree was written differently. I think it could have gone a lot differently if Finny had known Gene actually shook the limb to make him fall, and he wasn’t in denial about it basically. He pretty much let Gene off without it being a problem, and I think it could’ve been written a lot differently and it would have been better. If I had the chance, I’d ask the author why he decided that Finny would break his leg when he fell from the tree and not be able to play sports. I’d also ask why Gene agreed to play sports for Finny when he found out Finny couldn’t anymore. Was it because he feels bad? Or because he wants to be Finny because he was jealous?

    Reply
  7. iluvmymomanddad

    My favorite parts of the novel are all the parts that have to do with the butt room.
    I feel like the book could be more exciting and have more action, I think its to slow.
    I think the plot could be more exciting, if it was more exciting i would probably actually read it, but its not. The characters are fine I just want more action. the setting would be better with burning buildings and explosions. I am 95% sure I know how it ends so I’m not going to answer this question.

    ^Don’t read the first paragraph it was just the questions^. I’m to lazy to delete it all.^

    I don’t really like this novel very well i think others might. my only favorite parts in this book are the scenes with the butt room. I would probably like it more if there was more action. More action as in explosions and war. the setting is okay, if there was more war going on in the place they were at it might be better though. i like action books, the books that catch your eye at the very beginning. This book didn’t catch my eye, i think this book is really boring. That is just my opinion.

    Reply
  8. chrispettice13

    I really like this book so far because i enjoy learning about history. And sense this book is about schools during world war II i have enjoyed it. i wish finny would not have broken his leg twice that just makes the book look dumb because nobody breaks there leg 2 within a few weeks. I would have changed the setting the story to a school in the city so you would get a better idea of the school. I think that finny is gonna die at the end of the book.

    Reply
  9. rilynnbotkin

    The novel A Separate Peace is a well written book that shows the way that kids during war had to live their daily lives. Our society doesn’t grow up knowing that one day we could go off to war and die. We get the choice to decide our fate, whereas as the kids in A Separate Peace don’t get to choose if they wish to fight. They know that any day they could be drafted and sent to war. They were made to believe that if they wanted to live and be brave the war was the only place for them. In the book my favorite part is how the message is told throughout the whole story. How it shows that in just one small town the war can effect everything and everyone. Even though it is a great book I wish that the book would show more of a contrast between the present day and foreshadowing. While reading the book and it can get a little hard to understand the difference between the two times. The plot of the story is so well written that it in my mind while reading the book I see the characters and setting come alive. I believe the novel will end in a sad place showing how the war effects the world. I believe the novel will end with Gene leaving the school in present day after he returns. With his next stop being Phineas grave and the final moments that they shared together. This will happen to show the heartache that war can bring and how fast kid can change during war. How one minute they are playing blitsball and the next your best friend could be dying in your arms. If I could ask the author, John Knowles, one question it would be “Did you have the same experience during the war as the characters in the book and if you did why write about it?”

    Reply
  10. kirstenpickett

    In the novel, “A Separate Peace,” there are many parts of this story that are very interesting to me. One of the parts that interests me was at the beginning of the novel when Gene is reliving the memories that he has had at Devon. He remembers many events such as when he was training for the 1944 Olympics with his friend, Phineas, better known as Finny. Another memory he recalls while visiting his old school was when Finny broke his leg for a second time. This book has many great parts in it, but there were some parts of the novel that I wish could be changed. The part that I would change would be the part when Finny dies during his surgery. I feel that he should have woke up after his surgery and continue his friendship with Gene. In all honesty, there is nothing else that I would change about this book. I think the ending will be sad. I feel that another one of Genes friends is going to either get hurt, or the will end up dying. This would be something that I would ask the author. I also would ask him why Finny had to die so soon in the book. This book has very interesting parts, and it is a really good book to read.
    (revised one)

    Reply
  11. peytonnewell

    The novel has been really good so far. My favorite part of the Novel was when Finny shattered his leg from falling from the tree. I wish they would change the part of the Novel when Finny dies and he could of lived longer. I would change some of the character names and the name of the school they go to. I think the novel will end with Gene sad and lonely because he has lost his best friend. I think finny dies the way he does because the bone marrow got to his heart to show how bad his knee was. The author did such a good job in this book, if i had a chance to ask him one question, i would ask why he ended the book the way he did.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

