AP English – Time to Interview!!

Interview

Blogging is such a powerful medium for self-expression and self-discovery: every day, I read dozens of posts that channel their authors’ personalities and voices, giving me a glimpse of each blogger’s viewpoint.

Every once in a while, though, it can be rewarding — and fun — to let someone else do the talking. And there’s something particularly exciting about being the one who asks the questions and leads the direction of the discussion.

For this week’s challenge, we invite you to conduct a Q & A with any person you know who might have something interesting to say (read: anyone). It can be a family member or a close friend, a cab driver or your favorite barista. Or it could just be the first person who agrees to answer your questions.

Speaking on record

Everyone has (at least) one good story; your goal for your interview is to find it and share it on your blog.

Note: Make sure to ask permission to share your interviewee’s answers — especially if you mention his or her name, or any other potentially identifying information.

Interviews don’t have to be formal, two-hour affairs; every time you engage in a conversation with another person you’re, in effect, interviewing them. Consequently, you can format your post in any number of ways:

  • The classic interview: offer your interviewer a set number of questions, then share their replies. (If you’re not sure what to ask, take some inspiration from the famous Proust Questionnaire.)
  • Conduct your Q & A as an informal dialogue and write it down from memory, or compose a story in which this conversation assumes a central role.
  • Omit your questions from the post entirely, presenting your readers with the uninterrupted flow of your interviewee’s words (the Humans of New York project has really perfected this form — take a look and see if you feel like giving it a try).

Don’t have anyone to interview? Think again! You could:

  • Check out other bloggers on our Community Pool and request an interview with one whose blog resonates with your interests. (Note: if you go this route, please contact the bloggers in question on their site, not on the Community Pool’s comments section. Thanks!)
  • Compose a fictional Q & A with any historical figure you wish, living or dead. Write a short story about interviewing the first alien making contact with humans. The possibilities are truly infinite.
  • Ask a complete, random stranger. You’d be surprised how far a big, friendly smile and the promise of attention might get you.

AP English – Please have your responses posted by 11:59pm on Wednesday, October 8th!  I am looking forward to your responses!!  🙂

18 thoughts on “AP English – Time to Interview!!

  1. Kaylee

    For these questions I interviewed Bradley Leigh.

    Q: Where would you like to live?
    A: I would like to live in Tennessee or Georgia because they both have pretty landscapes and nice climates.

    Q: Who is your favorite fictional hero?
    A: My favorite hero is Robin because he looks cool and without him, Batman could not do anything.

    Q: What is your favorite color?
    A: My favorite color is grey, i can’t explain why.

    Q: What is your idea of happiness?
    A: My idea of happiness is being satisfied with myself and the people around me. Instead of having to worry about materialistic things, being able to focus more on being around nice people.

    Q: How do you wish to die?
    A: I wish to die fast because I imagine that dying slow would suck.

    Q: What is your favorite food or drink?
    A: My favorite thing to drink is Kool-Aid

    Q: If you could choose any talent, what would it be?
    A: I wish I could fly so I would not have to worry about gas.

    Q: What do you hate the most?
    A: I hate raccoons the most because they are scary.

    Q: What is a pet peeve of yours?
    A: It bothers me when people are really loud and obnoxious.

    Q: What do you appreciate most about your friends?
    A: I appreciate the fact that they would be there in a moments notice to help with anything.

    Reply
    1. Jacob Cassity

      I chose to interview Mr. Stoens

      Q: How did you get so huge?
      A: Roids… and dedication. *sarcasm*

      Q: What is your favorite sports team?
      A: Well I don’t enjoy watching the cubs, so Black Hawks.

      Q: Who was your first love?
      A: Jane Doe.

      Q: What’s your favorite subject to teach?
      A: I majored in chemistry, so that.

      Q: What’s your favorite pokemon?
      A: It’s hard to choose…There are just so many. I would have to go with Arcanine.

      Q: Who is your favorite rapper?
      A: Tupac.

      Q: What is your number one thing on your bucket list?
      A: To have an element named after me called Stoenium.

      Q: Who is your favorite female celebrity?
      A: Zooey Deschanel … New girls is my fav.

      Q: What’s your zombie survival plan?
      A: Watch Zombie Land and follow rules.

      Q: If you could put a hashtag on your gravestone, what would it be?
      A: #itsapoundsign.

      Reply
  2. Angelia

    I interviewed Mrs. Story.

    Q: Who are your heroes in real life?
    A: My heroes would have to be Jesus Christ and my mom.

    Q: What is your idea of perfect happiness?
    A: Perfect happiness to me is being satisfied with what you have.

    Q: What is your greatest fear?
    A: I don’t know if I want to answer that. I have a superstition that if I say it, it might happen.

    Q: What do you consider your greatest achievement?
    A: My greatest achievement would be coming from nothing and a very hard life to complete happiness.

    Q: Which talent would you like to have most?
    A: I would like to be really smart like my father in law. Genius but normal.

    Q: Which words or phrases do you overuse the most?
    A: “Don’t give me that!” “That’s ridiculous.”

    Q: If you were to die and come back as a thing, what would it be?
    A: I would like to come back as a dolphin.

    Q: What is your most treasured possession?
    A: My most treasure possession is my kids. However, they are technically not my possession. I am only loaning them from God.

    Q: What is your most marked characteristic?
    A: I am very determined.

    Q: Where would you like to live?
    A: Hawaii because it is still part of the U.S.

    Reply
  3. Trinity Dawson

    For this assignment, I chose to interview one of the most influential people in my life, Brian Carpenter.

    Q: What is your definition of success?
    A: If you’ve positively influenced those around you and have made a good name for yourself with integrity, you have been successful.

    Q: Who is the most inspirational person in your life?
    A: Besides Jesus…my grandpa.

    Q: If you could go on a road trip with an unlimited amount of money, where would you go and why?
    A: I would go to Ireland or Scotland. There’s so much history and castles are AWESOME!

    Q: What is your favorite past time?
    A: Baseball or golf.

    Q: What matters the most to you: what you’re like on the inside or outside? Why?
    A: Inside, because who you are on the inside should show up on the outside as well.

    Q: Where do you see yourself in ten years?
    A: Still being a youth minister, hopefully.

    Q: If you could change one thing about society, what would it be?
    A: Morals and ethics

    Q: What is your favorite season and why?
    A: Summer, it’s baseball season!

    Q: What legacy do you want to leave?
    A: That I was a man of faith and integrity.

    Q: Are you happy with the person you are today?
    A: Yes, but I can always improve and continue to grow as a good Christian man.

    Hope this works for ya. Got it done a little earlier than I thought I would.

    Reply
  4. Fallon Kitchens

    I interviewed my brother, Izaack Kitchens.

    Q: What is your favorite color?
    A: I like blue.

    Q: What is your favorite movie?
    A: I really liked “Life of Pi”.

    Q: What is your favorite subject?
    A: My favorite subject is science, but not chemistry. I like learning about the earth.

    Q: Have you ever had any broken bones?
    A: No, I have never broken anything before.

    Q: What do you want to be when you grow up?
    A: I think it would be really cool to be a professional football player.

    Q: Who is your favorite person?
    A: My favorite person is Emmitt Smith because he is really good at football.

    Q: What is your favorite season and why?
    A: I like fall because it smells good.

    Q: What is your greatest fear?
    A: My greatest fear is probably that no one will like me.

    Q: What do you like to do in your spare time?
    A: I like to just hang out with my friends.

    Q: Describe yourself in one word.
    A: If I had to describe myself in one word, I would probably say “commited” because I always finish what I started and I am dedicated to things that I do.

    Reply
  5. Jarod

    I chose to interview myself–more accurately, my alter ego, the Mr. Hyde to my Dr. Jekyll; I introduce to you, the fantastic Ted!

    Q: What is your favorite color?
    A: None. I hate all colors as they invoke feelings. Feelings are highly inefficient; I got rid of them years ago.

    Q: Who is your favorite person?
    A: Your mom.

    Q: What is your favorite animal?
    A: Any kind that is deep-fried, barbequed, or cooked on a stick. I like shish-kabobs a lot.

    Q: What do you want to be when you grow up?
    A: A child. I never want to lose the fun in life. Being rich would be nice too, but I’d rather be happy than wealthy any day.

    Q: What is your favorite food?
    A: I like steak.

    Q: What is your favorite vegetable?
    A: I like steak.

    Q: What is your favorite season?
    A: Winter.

    Q: What is your favorite pastime?
    A: In the winter, I like to hose down the steps to my front door, wait till the water freezes, and watch for Christmas carolers.

    Q: What is your favorite animal?
    A: The Zodiac Killer.

    Q: Who is your best friend?
    A: We don’t have any. You know that!

    Q: If you could have any superpower, what would it be?
    A: I would have the power to read minds so I could know exactly what to say to make people cry.

    Q: Would you like this interview to be over?
    A: *My mother walks in, sees me talking into a mirror and asks if I need to see a psychiatrist*

    Reply
  6. Brittany Taylor

    For this interview, I chose to interview an old teacher of mine, Mr.B
    Q: What is your favorite thing about teaching?
    A: The interactions I can have with my students.

    Q: What is your favorite color?
    A: Gray

    Q: Why did you decide to come to Bismarck to teach?
    A: I interviewed well and got hired. I am also a small town kind of guy.

    Q: What is you favorite sport?
    A: Football

    Q: If you had to explain your life in one word, what would it be?
    A: Odd

    Q: What food interests you the best?
    A: Pizza

    Q: What is your favorite kind of animal?
    A: Medium rare

    Q: What is the biggest fear you have?
    A: Failure

    Q:Who is your favorite fictional hero?
    A: They are all dead

    Q: If you had to pick another career besides teaching what would it be?
    A: Nothing

    Q: If you had the choice to be any animal you wanted, what would it be and why?
    A: An eagle, because I would have the ability to be free and soar above everything while keeping an eye on things. I would have peace and strength in my life.

    Reply
  7. Skylar Nuetzmann

    I interviewed Ben Ford.

    Q: What is your favorute color?
    A: “Green is cool” says Ben.

    Q: Who is your favorite superhero?
    A: Captain America, but only when he loses faith in America and becomes a free lance mercenary

    Q: What is your favorite season?
    A: soccer season

    Q: Where would you like to live?
    A: In a seaside castle in Ireland.

    Q: What is your biggest pet peeve?
    A: When people don’t listen to me.

    Q: If their was a zombie apocolypse what would you do?
    A: Move to Alaska because zombies are dead so they no longer produce body heat.

    Q: What’s your favorite Pokemon?
    A: “I am going to have to side with Mr. Stoens, Arcanine is pretty cool.”

    Q: What is your favorite past time?
    A: Stressing over A.P. English homework.

    Q: What super power would you want?
    A: To be able to know anything I wanted to know, infinit knowledge.

    Q: What is your favorite book?
    A: Three

    Reply
  8. Justin Silver

    I decided to interview my mom, Karen Delp.

    Q: What is your dream job and why?
    A: My dream job is to be a writer because I am always composing stories in my head and I think people would enjoy them if I wrote them down on paper.

    Q: If you could pick to live anywhere in the entire world, where would it be and why?
    A: Somewhere it is always warm such as the Gulf Coast of Mexico because I despise cold weather, like Mexican food, and “hablo espanol” (I speak Spanish).

    Q: If you were extremely rich, do you think you would be more of the greedy type or would you be kind and give to those in need (Or a mixture of both)?
    A: After I buy myself and my family whatever vehicles they want (as long as they are muscle cars) and a log cabin in the mountains, I would focus on using the remainder of my funds to serve others however God would want me to.

    Q: What is your worst fear?
    A: You might think I’d say spiders, but the truth is my worst fear is that I might see harm come to my children.

    Q: What is your favorite food?
    A: That’s a tough question because I like a lot of things, but if I had choose just one I suppose it would be Papa Del’s Pepperoni Pizza.

    Q: What was your favorite subject in school and were you good at it?
    A: My favorite subject in school was math because it only had one right answer; unlike some classes, and I was pretty good at it.

    Q: Are you afraid of death? Why or why not?
    A: In some respects I am afraid of death. I am terribly afraid of watching my loved ones die and of course I don’t relish the accompanying pain and suffering of my own death, but because I am confident of my relationship with God through Jesus Christ, I know that I will go to heaven when I die and that sounds like a really awesome place!

    Reply
  9. Erin Brown

    I decided to interview my boyfriend, the ever-talented Jeremy Donaldson.

    E: So, Jeremy, what is your major and level of degree?
    J: Right now I’m going to DACC for an Art and Science associate’s degree.

    E: What do you want to do with a fine arts major?
    J: First and foremost, I just want to use it to open up opportunities for myself. I feel like it will be easier to get a job with such a degree as a credit. Plus I wouldn’t mind having the knowledge I will gain along the way.

    E: Why do you want to be a cinematographer?
    J: I feel like I’m not too terribly awful at framing a shot. I definitely could be worse. Also I love movies, and why wouldn’t I want to get paid to put beautiful pictures on a screen? I wouldn’t mind being a screenwriter as well.

    E: What are your options after you receive your associate’s degree?
    J: I feel like my options right now are: I go to Champaign and attend the School of Art and Design, I go to Columbia school in Chicago, I pay an unnecessary amount of money (which I will probably never be able to pay back) to go to the Art Institute, or I sit at home and be a bum, working some low-end job for the rest of my life.

    E: What are some of your favorite movies?
    J: My favorite movies change day to day. Picking a favorite movie is extremely difficult for me. American Beauty, Children of Men, Match Point, Shawshank Redemption, and Magnolia are a few incredible movies.

    E: What is your favorite film genre and why?
    J: Well…I guess if I have to choose, I’d say drama. I pretty much like movies from all genres, but dramas are generally the most powerful and best films overall.

    E: What kind of films do you plan on directing?
    J: To start, I would probably direct comedies and horror films. My reason is that the two of them have the lowest budgets, and would be the most realistic options I would have for making a movie on a low budget. Also, as far as my favorite genre goes, people don’t care much about dramas written or shot by unknown people. Those are the films that are given to studios for the most part. And to do that, I first would have to make a name for myself or at least know someone in the industry. If you know someone in the industry, you don’t have to do any work to get to the top–all you have to do is exist.

    E: Are you where you saw yourself being right now during high school?
    J: I never really thought about where exactly I was going to be right now, when I was in high school. I only graduated a year and a half ago, so I didn’t put much thought into this near future. I think more in the long term. But I am happy with where I am in my life.

    E: Do you have any regrets about high school?
    J: Nope…oh wait there was that one…oh wait, no. No I don’t.

    E: What do you hope to accomplish in ten years?
    J: I hope to have a screenplay bought, or get on as a director of photography on even an independent film. Everything else will come when it does. I don’t think too much about how my life is going to be then, because then I won’t be able to get disappointed if things don’t go the way I want them to.

    Reply
  10. Caleb Towe

    I decided to interview my father, DeWayne
    He is going to tell how he met his wife, aka, my mother.

    So it all started with my roommate, Richard, at ITT in Indy. He invited me to come visit his hometown Danville to check out his family and his church. I remember vividly the first time I went to his church that I noticed my future wife, Julie, and if you ask her she said she noticed me. So then a few weeks later I came back to Danville for a Carmen concert at the Palmer Arena. At the concert was where I first met her. So then I came back to Danville a few more times until Cheri, Richard’s mother, told me that I should ask this girl out on a date. I thought that it was someone else, but she said that her name was Julie. So I ended up calling her and asking her out to lunch and a movie. We ended up going to Shoney’s and then going to see Toy Soldier. We keep in touch with me going to school then coming to visit almost every weekend. Our relationship was great until a few months later when I graduated and I was going to get a job at Motorola. We were talking about breaking up, but some people at church were praying for us. So it was a few days before I was going to move to Chicago to work for Motorola when I got a call from them saying that the person who was going to hire me was fired. Then after that I just decided to move to Danville and live with Cheri. In the end I kept on dating Julie then I decided to propose to her. The rest is history.

    Reply
  11. Emily Richardson

    I chose to interview my boyfriend, Zachary Moore.

    E: If you could have any superpower, what would it be and why?
    Z: Ideally I would want every superpower, even Squirrel Girl’s. If I had to pick just one it would be immortality, invincibility or a combination of the two. I’ve actually though about this a lot and I feel like I could deal with all of the problems that come with being immortal like losing all of your loved ones and the eternal boredom that would happen if the universe eventually ended. I really like the idea of being able to live long enough to see what will happen to the earth and all of space and everything. I would probably eventually go float around the universe and explore everything since I wouldn’t die in space.

    E: What is your favorite season and why?
    Z: My favorite season is fall because I like the way the temperature can change so suddenly from day to day. I also really enjoy seeing the leaves change color and fall because in a way it shows that death can be a beautiful thing.

    E: Who is your idol and why?
    Z: I would have to say my idol is Chris Pratt because I feel like the way he acts in the roles he does is similar to how I act and I feel like he has a genuine personality.

    E: If you could live anywhere, where would your ideal destination be?
    Z: My ideal place to live would probably be Toronto. I’ve always been enamored with Toronto for some reason. I feel like living there would give you the experience of living in a big city with a kind of small town feel.

    E: Left or right? Explain.
    Z: Left because I’m left handed

    E: Squirtle, Charizard, or Bulbasaur?
    Z: Squirtle because that was the very first Pokemon I ever chose.

    E: How do you feel about the government?
    Z: There are a few things that are done that are good but I think that the way it is run now isn’t effective. The way the politicians are put into offices should change.

    E: What is your social security number? Why or why not?
    Z: 8675309 because I’m lying.

    E: Et tu, Bruté?
    Z: Y tu mama tambien.

    E: Are we human or are we dancer?
    Z: We are Groot.

    Reply
  12. Ben Ford

    I interviewed ever so silly sister Madeline…

    Q: What is your favorite color?
    A: Bright Caribbean Blue… (I didn’t believe it, but she said it exists)

    Q: What is your favorite school subject?
    A: Definitely Band, because Mr. Schroeder a rockin’ director.

    Q: What do you want to be when you grow up?
    A: Professional Quidditch player.

    Q: Where do you want to live when you grow up?
    A: Skyfall Manor. (Yes from the James Bond movie)

    Q: What is your favorite pastime?
    A: Running marathons… On Netflix.

    Q: Who is your favorite celebrity?
    A: David Tenant.

    Q: What is your zombie survival plan?
    A: Find Bill Murray’s house.

    Q: What is your favorite book?
    A: The Bible

    Q: What is you favorite movie?
    A: It’s actually an eleven way tie between The Lion King, The Shawshank Redemption, Back to the Future, The Avengers, SkyFall, Grease, Les Miserable, Man of La Mancha, X-Men: Days of Future Past, Coming to America, and The Green Hornet.

    Q: What is your favorite kind of humor?
    A: Dry, sarcastic, British humor

    Reply
  13. Emily Shepard

    I chose to interview Sage Clark, who happens to be my boyfriend…

    Q: What do you think is your best characteristic?
    A: I think my best characteristic is that I am smart.

    Q: What is your idea of happiness?
    A: My idea of happiness is what is to come in my future.

    Q: What is your idea of misery?
    A: My idea of misery is losing something that I love.

    Q: Where would you like to live?
    A: I would like to live in North Carolina because of the beach and the weather is nice.

    Q: What do you hate the most?
    A: I hate being hurt the most.

    Q: What is one natural talent you wish you were born with?
    A: I wish I was able to fall asleep at night normally.

    Q: Who is your hero in real life?
    A: My hero is my grandpa.

    Q: If not yourself, who would you be?
    A: I would be Bill Nye.

    Q: What’s your dream job?
    A: My dream job is to become a chemist.

    Q: Where do you see yourself in ten years?
    A: I see myself in North Carolina being a chemist and living with my wife (you).

    Reply
  14. Molly Gregory

    For this interview, I decided to talk to my uncle, Brian. We had our conversation around the fire pit outside of his house; he smoked a cigar and I stood ready with my pen and paper. I began by asking how he came to seduce my aunt, a level headed career woman.
    “I tried to sell her a car and she tried to negotiate with me. I offered her lunch and a better price, but she refused. That whole week she came to the dealership, trying to buy some old Toyota from me. Saturday we had a lovely breakfast together.”
    I asked him about his now growing family, wondering why he and my aunt waited ten years to begin trying for a child.
    “She was getting her PhD and I was busy climbing the ranks. The kid might be having his graduation party in a nursing home, but it will be the nicest nursing home any of you people* have ever been in!”
    Brian began to grow bored or uncomfortable of the more heartfelt questions, so I began to ask the standard questions.
    On his biggest pet peeve:
    “I cant stand people with opinions that they can’t back up. Do your darned* research.”
    On his biggest idol:
    “Rush Limbaugh. Was that a legitimate question?”
    On his plan for any apocalypse:
    “I’ve got access to at least three gun safes within a two mile radius. We all know basic first aide. And we’ve got the E-Machine (My sister). We’ll be basically invincible. Also, remember that one of the most important rules is cardio. Stay fit. Don’t let the McDonald’s get you.”
    On interviews, and my favorite quote of the evening:
    “What do you mean, you can’t use some of my answers? It’s not like I’m saying the n-word over and over again. At least you haven’t quit and taken up the marijuana like that one reporter lady did!”
    Needless to say, interviewing Brian was more than just an interesting conversation. It was strange, somewhat offensive, and oddly touching.
    *Words have been made PG for the sake of the readers.

    Reply
  15. Faith Camarata

    For these questions, I interviewed my mother.
    Q: What is your favorite color and why?
    A: Orange because it reminds me of pumpkins.
    Q: Who do you look up to the most in life?
    A: My grandma.
    Q: what is your worst fear?
    A: Losing someone close to me.
    Q: What’s your favorite food and why?
    A: Chicken because you can change the taste.
    Q: What’s your dream job?
    A: My dream job would be to be a nurse.
    Q: What’s your biggest regret in life?
    A: I regret not going to college straight after high school.
    Q: What is the most important thing to you in life?
    A: My children are the most important.

    Reply
  16. jacobpryle

    For these questions, I decided to interview my mother.
    Q: What’s your favorite food?
    A: Pizza. There’s a ton of ways you can make it.
    Q: if you were a type of animal what would you be?
    A: A dog. Everybody loves them and they live a carefree life.
    Q: what’s your favorite color?
    A: pink of course, because I’m a girl.
    Q: what was your favorite class in high school?
    A: History. I like to learn where we originated from.
    Q: Do you think people should wait to get married?
    A: yes and no. As long as if you think they’re the right one go for it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

